Got That Cold Call From Leapfish

by jack on January 5, 2010

Yep, I knew it was bound to happen…I got that famous cold call from Leapfish, the “stellar new search engine aggregator”, and after the fast talking agent had me click around his site, I thought, hey, this is pretty good, wonder what a sponsored link would cost.

Well, the little voice told me to go looking online for the experience of others, and wouldn’t ya know it…these kids are into fraud!

First up, there’s the fake testimonials on Techcrunch…and being a sort of investigator of claims myself, I thought I’d take a snapshot of that V***** keyword from that post, and see if they are still up to their shenanigans…

leapfish isn't showing ads here

leapfish isn't showing ads here

But right at the same time, over at the advertisers page, it seems this keyword has only the #2 spot left, so I better hurry if I want it!

this data does not match their homepage results

this data does not match their homepage results

Ya, rrrrrrighhhht!

Just go check out techcrunch’s own reporting of these guys, and how their very own employees are busy spamming the site with fake enthusiasm about leapfish.  It takes a while to read all those comments, but sure is fun to see the snakes get drawn out and squished.

So, I gotta ask myself…they call me about a keyword I rank for on google, then offer a #1 spot for a one-time 4 figures, and yet when I go search that term on their site, it says it is already sold out…so who’s right, the guy on the phone, or their website?

I don’t know about you, but when things don’t add up, I back up and run…

Run Forrest, Run!

Run For Them Hills, Forrest

Run For Them Hills, Forrest

Related posts:

Link To This Post
1. Click inside the codebox
2. Right-Click then Copy
3. Paste the HTML code into your webpage
codebox
powered by Linkubaitor
Share This Story:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay
  • MySpace
  • StumbleUpon

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Vlad Zablotskyy January 6, 2010 at 2:20 am

Jack,
Looks like you have “dodged the bullet” with LeapFish. Thanks for the link, much appreciated!
I hope your own the domain name that is your name. The CEO of LeapFish has a habit of purchasing domains of those bloggers who criticize any of his startups:

http://www.go-beyond-mls.com/ceo-of-eperks-and-...

I find it funny that the ad for “V****a” is linked to their blog. Maybe they are thinking to re-brand themselves should the “search engine” thing does not work out? “V****a” must be very profitable market considering all the spam associated with it.

Leave a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus

Previous post:

Next post: